关于居家生活

我们的调查

我们认为家是世界上最重要的地方。因此,我们上门拜访,了解大家对于居家生活的需求和梦想。

我们的调查
关于居家生活
我们越了解现代生活方式,就越能帮助人们改善居家生活,无论他们住在哪里或如何生活。

每年,我们都会发布一份新的《居家生活报告》,分享我们在全球调查中发现的一些趣事。这也让我们更深入了解全球正在发生的变化(从气候变化到城镇化的兴起),看看它们如何影响世界各地的居家生活。

多年来,我们提出了一些重要问题。以下是我们目前的发现,以及这些发现如何影响我们如今对居家生活的看法。

了解更多关于隐私的信息.

个要素

家是什么?

虽然世界各地的家看起来各不相同,但其实它们有很多共同之处。

描述家时,我们总会提到:可用的空间、家庭的位置、家里的东西以及一起生活的人。这四个要素帮我们诠释了家的功能。

人们对这四个要素的感受也帮我们了解对家来说,最重要的是什么。我们知道,几乎一半的人表示家里有他们最重要的关系,38%的人认为他们居住的社区是家的一部分。我们的物品常常帮助揭示我们的身份,我们的感官则让我们对家有一种独特的感官体验。也许您也是40%认为家里有一种特别的气味的人群。

一般来说,如今的家比以前更灵活,需要为全天的不同活动和需求提供空间。因此,有趣的是,1/4 的人表示,在家拥有良好的 WiFi 连接比拥有社交空间更重要。

您可以阅读《2016 年度居家生活报告》,了解更多关于家的信息。

27% 的人表示,社会压力让他们的生活质量降低

沮丧

什么让我们对家感到沮丧?

居家生活并不总是那么容易。有时候,和我们一起生活的人、我们拥有的物品、我们享有的空间或我们居住的社区,都会让我们感到沮丧。

无论住在哪里或者如何生活,我们经常都会面临同样的整理压力。事实上,一半的人表示,家里争吵的主要原因是我们对脏乱的感受不同。我们中的许多人与他人共住一个屋檐下,但 42% 的人表示,他们发现很难拥有自己的私人区域,这就解释了 17% 的争吵源于侵犯了他人的空间。

虽然我们经常身在家中,但多达 1/4 的人表示,在家很难获得心灵慰藉。科技对此的作用好坏参半:超过 1/3 的人表示,科技让我们与生活在一起的人更亲近;另外 1/3 的人表示,他们发现很难找到恰当的平衡点。

显然,家在不断变化,所以我们越能做好适应变化的准备,居家生活就会越舒适,也就不会那么令人沮丧。

阅读我们的《2017 年度居家生活报告》,了解更多关于家庭纷争的信息。

情感

家给人什么感觉呢?

家不仅仅是一个地方,还是一种感觉。我们发现与家有关的五种情感需求:隐私、安全、舒适、所有权和归属感。这就是人们所说的“家的感觉”。

这些需求普遍存在,但它们在我们人生的不同阶段发挥着不同作用,具体取决于我们的年龄、和我们生活在一起的人以及我们在世界上的位置。大多数人都认为,满足这些需求对我们的家来说非常重要,但对许多人来说,期望和现实之间存在落差,也就是说,家不一定有家的感觉。

我们认为,每个人都应该体验到家的感觉,因此,我们设计了一个简单的工具,帮助人们采取措施改善居家生活。您可以在此处完成“家的感觉测试”。

阅读《2018 年度居家生活报告》,了解更多关于家的感觉的信息

1/3 的人有这种看法,他们不觉得自己的家能给他们安全感;1/4 的人与陌生人住在一起,他们对自己的家没有归属感。因此,越来越多的人(达到 1/3)表示,他们觉得有些地方比自己居住的地方更有家的感觉。

我们认为,每个人都应该体验到家的感觉,因此,我们设计了一个简单的工具,帮助人们采取措施改善居家生活。您可以在此处完成“家的感觉测试”

“在家,人们可以接受真实的自我,做回自己,享受自由。”——Anna,柏林

“家很重要,但你需要有其他机会在家庭之外体验家的感觉。”——Erik,柏林

位置

家的起止点在哪里?

实体的家正变得越来越小,越来越智能,越来越忙碌,越来越嘈杂。而这一切都会影响家这个空间如何成功满足我们对它的功能和情感需求。如果我们在家无法获得需要的东西,就会走出家门。

我们的调查表明,生活在不断变化,所以家也需要不断改变。居家生活正在成为由地点和空间构成的网络,我们在家做的事和我们在家之外做的事,两者之间的界限正在变得模糊。随着我们将传统的家庭活动带到其他空间和地方,将更多的室外活动带到室内,我们的日常生活正在发生变化。

对许多人来说,邻居和社区可以为我们提供在家无法获得的东西。这就解释了为什么 64% 的人表示宁愿住在地理位置优越的小房子里,也不愿住在地理位置不好的大房子里。

阅读我们的《2018 年度居家生活报告》,了解居家生活的新时代。

隐私
“没有隐私,就没有空间激发思想和新想法。这会残忍地扼杀我所有的创造力和激情。”——Rinkal,孟买

在家拥有隐私有多重要?

在家拥有隐私既是一种权利也是一种需求,但对太多的人来说,这是不可能实现的。1/4 的人担心自己在家没有足够的隐私,而超过一半的人表示对此感到沮丧。

隐私对于我们的身心健康来说必不可少。超过 75% 的人认为,隐私对我们的幸福至关重要,因为我们需要空间来恢复精力,了解自己,不断成长。然而,许多人在家很难有隐私,只能依靠其他暗示(比如戴上耳机),以避免惹怒和他们住在一起的人。

我们的调查表明,我们需要重新思考隐私,更好地了解它对于幸福的意义,让人们敢于提出隐私要求。无论是独自一人还是与他人住在一起,家在帮助我们获得隐私方面都发挥着重要作用。虽然隐私有时指的是独处,但它始终更强调做真正的自己,因此,通常情况下,没有哪个地方比家更能让我们感受到完全的自由。

阅读我们的《2019 年度居家生活报告》,深入了解隐私。

85% 的人表示,他们觉得自己在家拥有隐私。

我们如何调查居家生活

每年,我们都会上门拜访成千上万的人,了解如何改善居家生活。

我们综合运用各种方法并与调查伙伴合作,使得《居家生活报告》成为当今世界上最全面的居家生活调查项目之一。

让人们说出自己的需求和梦想有时并不容易,所以我们努力打造安全的线上和线下空间,并使用各种工具和活动来鼓励坦诚的讨论和反思。我们的调查通常包括:

• 建立安全的线上社区,鼓励开诚布公的讨论
• 上门拜访,与主人度过一天的时光
• 在世界各地的宜家商场接待顾客
• 在 30 多个国家/地区开展有全国代表性的在线调查

请阅读我们的报告,了解针对上述每一点我们采用的具体调查方法。

About life at home

Our Research

We believe that home is the most important place in the world. That’s why we meet people where they live, to learn about what they need and dream about when it comes to life at home.

Our Research
about Life at Home
The more we learn about the way we live today, the more we can help people to make their life at home that little bit better, no matter where or how they live.

Every year, we publish a new Life at Home Report to share some of the interesting things we find out from our global research. This also gives us the chance to dig deeper into global changes taking place, from climate change to the rise of city-living, and see how they affect life at home in different parts of the world.

Over the years, we’ve asked some big questions. Here is what we’ve discovered so far, and how this influences the way we think about life at home today.

Learn more about our research here.

Dimensions

What makes a home?

Homes around the world have a lot in common, despite looking very different.

We can all describe where we live in terms of the space we have available, where our home is located, the things we own, and the people we live with. These four dimensions help us explain the functional aspects of home.

The way people feel about these four dimensions also helps us understand what aspects of home are most important. We know that almost half of people say that home is where they have their most significant relationships, and 38% consider the neighbourhood they live in to be part of their home. Our objects often help us express who we are, and our senses help create a sensory experience of home that feels unique. Maybe you are one of the 40% of people who say that their home has a particular smell.

Homes today are typically more fluid than before, and need to provide spaces for different activities and needs throughout the day. That’s why it’s interesting to learn that one in four people say having a good WiFi connection is more important than having social spaces at home.

You can read more about what makes a home in our Life at Home Report 2016.

27% of people say society puts pressure on them to live more minimally.

Frustrations

What frustrates us about home?

Life at home isn’t always easy. Sometimes the people we live with, the things we own, the amount of space we have or the neighbourhood we live in can make us feel frustrated.

No matter where or how we live, we often experience the same pressure to declutter. In fact, half of people say the main cause of their domestic arguments is due to the different feelings we have about mess. Many of us share our homes with other people, but 42% say they find it hard to ask for their own area which helps explain why a further 17% of our arguments start when we intrude on other people’s space.

We’re often physically present at home, but as many as one in four of us say we struggle to feel mentally present when we’re there. Technology can both help and hinder this feeling, with over a third of us saying technology helps us feel more connected to the people we live with, whilst another third say we find it challenging to find the right balance.

What’s clear is that home is constantly evolving, so the more we’re prepared to be part of the change, the more comfortable – and less frustrating – life at home can be.

Learn more about the battles on the homefront in our Life at Home Report 2017.

Emotion

How does home feel?

Home is more than a place; it’s a feeling. We have identified five emotional needs connected to the home – privacy, security, comfort, ownership and belonging. This is what people mean when they talk about the ‘feeling of home’.

These needs are universal but they play different roles at different stages of our lives, depending on how old we are, who we live with, and where we are in the world. Most of us believe that it’s important for our homes to meet these needs, but for many people there is a gap between expectation and reality, meaning that home doesn’t always feel like home.

We can see this amongst the one in three people who don’t feel their home gives them a sense of security, and the one in four people living with strangers who don’t feel a sense of ownership over where they live.

As a result, an increasing number of people – one in three – say there are places where they feel more at home than the space they live in.

We believe everyone deserves to feel at home, which is why we designed a simple tool to help people take steps to improve their life at home. You can take the Feeling of Home Quiz here.

"Home is arriving to a place where people take me as I am, where I can be myself and have freedom.” Anna, Berlin

“The four walls are important, but you need to have other opportunities outside the four walls to feel at home.”

Erik, Berlin

Location

Where does home begin and end?

Our physical homes are getting smaller, smarter, busier and noisier. All of this impacts on how successfully a single space can deliver what we need from it – functionally and emotionally. When we can’t get what we need at home, we head outside.

Our research shows that life is on the move, and home needs to catch up. Life at home is becoming a network of places and spaces, and the boundaries are blurring between what we do at home and what we do beyond four walls. Our daily routines are changing as we take traditional home activities into other spaces and places, and bring more of the outside in.

For many of us, our neighbourhoods and communities offer us things we can’t get at home. Which helps explain why 64% of us say we would rather live in a small home in a great location compared to a big home in a less ideal location.

Discover a new era of life at home in our Life at Home Report 2018.

Privacy
“Without privacy, there would be no space to provoke thoughts and new ideas. It would brutally kill all my creativity and passion.” Rinkal, Mumbai

How important is privacy at home?

Privacy at home is both a right and a necessity, but for too many people it can feel impossible to achieve. One in four of us say that we are concerned we don’t get enough privacy at home, and more than half of us say we feel frustrated as a result.

Privacy is necessary for our physical and mental health. More than 75% of us agree that privacy is vital for our wellbeing, because we need breathing space to recharge, to get to know ourselves, and grow as people. Yet many people struggle to ask for privacy at home, and rely on other signals, like putting on a pair of headphones, to avoid upsetting the people they’re with.

Our research revealed that we need to rethink privacy, to better understand the way it contributes to our wellbeing, and to empower people to ask for it. The home plays a significant role in helping us achieve privacy, whether that’s alone or with other people. Because while privacy is sometimes about being by ourselves, it’s always about truly being ourselves, and often there’s no better place than home to feel completely free.

Dig deeper into privacy in our Life at Home Report 2019.

85% of people believe they have a right to privacy at home.
How we do it

How we research life at home

Every year, we set out to understand more about what makes a better life at home by connecting with thousands of people where they live.

The combination of methodologies we use, in collaboration with our research partners, makes the Life at Home Report one of the most comprehensive research projects into life at home in the world today.

It’s not always easy for people to open up about their needs and dreams, so we strive to create safe spaces – online and offline – and use a variety of tools and activities to encourage honest discussion and reflection. Our research typically involves:

  • Creating secure online communities for open discussions
  • Visiting people in their homes, and spending time with them during the day
  • Meeting with customers at IKEA stores around the world
  • Conducting a nationally representative online survey in 30+ countries

Read our reports for more information about the research methodologies used for each one.