私人时光的力量

2019 年度宜家居家生活报告

在居家生活中拥有更多个人空间

观看短片
2019 年度居家生活报告
了解对私人空间的落差感

85%的人认为自己有权在家享受私人时光,但是1/4的人担心我们并未获得我们所需的私人时光。

在《2019 年度宜家居家生活报告》中,我们着手去了解是什么导致需求与所得之间的这种落差,以及如何才能减小这一落差。在当今世界,隐私必不可少,但有时却让人觉得无法得到。我们的研究表明,独处不仅仅是一种情感需求,对很多人来说,在家拥有属于自己的时光是一种权利。人们无法想象没有隐私的世界,自然就会去寻求私人空间。

我们发现,拥有私人空间往往与环境有关——我们居住的地方、与我们一起生活的人以及我们在家扮演的角色。这些都是造成落差的因素。在调查过程中,我们发现,想要减小这种落差,获得更多个人空间,可以这样做:重新审视我们对隐私的看法;围绕我们的隐私需求进行开诚布公的谈话;让独处成为我们整体幸福感的一部分。

在不能拥有个人空间时,超过一半的人感到沮丧,1/3 的人感到焦虑。

全球 20% 的人表示,当要求独处时,他们害怕别人会把这当成是私人恩怨。

在居家生活中拥有更多个人空间

独处:一项复杂的诉求

要拥有隐私,除了功能方面的障碍,还有一个更大的问题,而这个问题与人而不是地点有关。要求他人给自己提供独处的时光会让人觉得尴尬、格格不入,有时甚至是非常粗鲁。

1/10 的人认为他们在家没有要求个人空间的权利。如果我们无法在口头上提出要求,就依靠暗示来传达我们对独处的需求。我们可以使用耳机或屏幕等物品、阅读等活动,甚至可以使用肢体语言。

但显然,我们获得的私人时光越多,我们的人际关系就会越好。全球 3/5 的人认为独处对人际关系非常重要。

私人时光的助益

我们需要重新认识到私人时光能为我们带来积极的益处。无论是独处还是与他人亲密相处,我们都需要个人空间来恢复精力,了解自己,不断成长。全球超过 75% 的人寻求独处是为了让自己免于被评头论足,70% 的人表示独处对个人成长很重要。

释放私人时光的力量

显然,私人时光可以帮助我们在家里和生活中茁壮成长。我们应该意识到自己拥有隐私权、重新审视我们对独处的看法、认为我们有权提出对个人空间的需求并为了独处而创造合适的时间和空间,这样就能享受私人时光为生活带来的好处。

全球 76% 的人认为“私人时光是我们获得幸福的重要组成部分”

The Power of Privacy

IKEA LIFE AT HOME REPORT 2019

Opening up more breathing space in life at home

Watch our film
IKEA Life at Home Report 2019
Understanding the privacy gap

85% of us believe we have a right to privacy at home, yet 1 in 4 are concerned that our privacy needs are not being met.

In the IKEA Life At Home Report 2019 we set out to understand what’s causing this gap between what we need and what we get, and how we can close it. In today’s world, privacy is a necessity that can sometimes feel impossible to get. Our research shows us that privacy is much more than an emotional need; to many people, privacy at home feels like a right. People can’t imagine a world without it, and naturally seek it out.

We discovered that getting privacy is often about context – where we live, who we live with, and our roles in the home. These are the factors which create the privacy access gap. Throughout our research, we found that we can all close this gap and open up more breathing space by reframing how we view privacy, sparking an honest and open conversation about our need for it, and making privacy integral to our overall wellbeing.

Over 50% of people feel frustrated when they don’t get privacy and a third feel anxious.

Meet Mecca to learn more about finding privacy outdoors.

Meet Dave to learn more about sharing the load.

Meet Sarah to learn more about finding private time.

20% of people globally agree that ‘I’m afraid people will take it personally’ when asking for privacy.

Opening up more breathing space

Privacy: a complicated ask

Beyond the functional barriers to privacy there is a bigger issue which is related to people, not place. Asking others for privacy can feel awkward, antisocial, and sometimes just downright rude.

One in ten people don’t feel they have the right to ask for privacy at home. If we can’t ask verbally, we rely on signals to communicate our need for privacy. We use objects like headphones or screens, activities like reading, or even just our body language.

But what’s clear is that the more privacy we get, the better our relationships will be. Three in five people globally believe privacy is important for relationships.

Privacy as an enabler

We need to rethink privacy as something that unlocks positive benefits. We need privacy – either on our own or in moments of intimacy with others – to recharge, to get to know ourselves, and grow as people. More than 75% of us globally seek privacy to enjoy freedom from judgement, and 70% say privacy is important to enable personal growth.

Unlocking the power of privacy

It’s clear that privacy helps us to thrive at home and in life. We can all unlock the life-enhancing benefits of privacy by recognising our right to it, reframing how we think about it, feeling empowered to ask for it, and creating the right time and space for it.

76% globally agree that ‘privacy is an important part of my wellbeing'.